I’m fasting, but it’s not what you think

I’m fasting today, but not for the reasons you might think. For the past week, maybe longer, my jaw has been swelling causing sharp piercing pain just under my ear. The pain is made worse by chewing, so limiting the amount of time I spend chewing and taking ibuprofen are the only ways I know to get relief.

The first time this happened, I ignored the pain until the joints on both sides of my jaw were swollen to the point I couldn’t open my mouth enough to fit my pinky between my front teeth. At the time I didn’t have health insurance so I rested my jaw, took ibuprofen, and applied an ice pack every few hours. As it turns out, this is all a doctor would have done for me anyway.

So I’m fasting…but only because I’m in too much pain to chew.

One thought on “I’m fasting, but it’s not what you think

Leave a Reply

