An evening off, white zinfandel, and marriage

After months of relentless, 80-100hr, 7 day, work weeks, I finally have an evening off. Although I desperately need to go to the grocery store, the roads are covered in ice so I made soup from pantry groceries. I did a much needed load of laundry so I can finally stop hunting for the least dirty outfit to wear to work, done dishes, replied to photography clients, replied to emails from members of the meetup group I organize, and picked up around the house.

Currently I’m sitting on the couch waiting for the laundry to dry and sipping an individual serving of white zinfandel contemplating both how amazing it is to have an evening off work and my own infertility. I’m so tired of hearing how everyone “my age” is either having or has already had children. It’s the annoying sting of constant reminders…

While not technically engaged, Jonathan and I made plans to be married in April.  I will inherit two extremely cool children via marriage. Jonathan has spent every weekend working on my house so I can sell it while I’ve been working around the clock for my job. The best thing about our relationship is that we have such a good friendship. We love each other, but we also help each other. It’s such a change to be loved like this.

3 thoughts on “An evening off, white zinfandel, and marriage

  1. Happy for the love you’ve found. And people can be such unwitting idiots re: kids. You need to put up the teflon anti-idiot shield the moment the topic comes up. I think they sell those at Walmart:).

  2. I wish you the very best and a happy wedding and honeymoon. I am sorry about your family. My mother made a bid scene at our wedding. It was awful. I understand why you need some privacy here.

Leave a Reply

