Difficult Conversations

“Becca?”

“Yes, D?”

“When you marry daddy, will you be my mom?”

“No, honey. Your mom is always your mom…but, you can call me whatever you want as long as it’s not a mean name.”

“Oh…ok.”

I glanced at the rearview mirror and noticed M seemed oblivious to the conversation between D and I.

“Becca?”

“Yes, D?”

“Was your mom a child abuser?”

“Well…When I was about your age, my mom did hurt me and said a lot of really mean things to me so, yes, my mom was abusive.”

“Does she abuse you now?”

“No, honey. I haven’t lived with her for a very long time. Since I was 16, actually.”

“That’s good.”

“It is. That’s the best thing about being an adult – you can stand up to people better.”

D stared out the window, seemingly deep in thought, while M continued to play his video game oblivious to the goings on around him.

One thought on “Difficult Conversations

  1. I had to share some tough stuff with my wife about my mom and early childhood and a sadistic event in grade school once.

    I still remember some things even though it was long ago and i was a mere child.

Leave a Reply

