Asthma, Asthma, and More Asthma

Day 3 of antihistamines. Day 7 of the steroid inhaler. Does anyone else feel extremely drowsy after taking “non-drowsy” antihistamines like Zyrtec or Claritin? Maybe I’m a weirdo, but, even though I should take an antihistamine every day, I just can’t manage the crushing fatigue.

Since my immune system is busy destroying my joints, I often feel worn out anyway. Adding a medication which causes drowsiness on top of the grinding fatigue is more than I care to tolerate. I work full time. I live alone. I have a house to maintain, pets to care for, work to go to, and occasionally a social life. I don’t want to spend the only bits of free time I am afforded sleeping.

However, I also don’t want to spend every waking moment feeling like cinderblocks are piled on my chest slowly squeezing the oxygen from my lungs. Asthma causes fatigue as well. Obviously, if you’re not getting enough oxygen, you’re going to feel tired…and cold. The icicle extremities are particularly annoying. “Oh, I feel fine.”, I say when coworkers ask…except my hands and feet feel like they may completely freeze off, I’m exhausted, and I feel like an elephant is sitting on my chest.

5 thoughts on “Asthma, Asthma, and More Asthma

    1. At least I’m not going completely nuts. Taking Zyrtec or Claritin makes me almost as drowsy as taking a Benadryl. I’m not even kidding. I have a really high tolerance for Benadryl, I guess, and a low tolerance to everything else???

      1. I think everyone has different reactions. If you are used to taking Benadryl, it probably does not affect you. I am jealous that Claritin and Zyrtec work for you. All of the stuff that works for me is hard to find since they took away pseudoephredrine. You can buy it but only at the phramacy and only 1 pack a month.

  1. I used to be on Claritin and plan to go back on it. My allergies are killing me. I do not know if it helps. I am totally congested. I am tired most of the time already, but I am 80.

Leave a Reply

