The Condescending Realtor and My Nonexistent Feelings

Yesterday, I received the following text from my realtor

“Can you call me right now? I need to discuss your house.”

I’m selling my house to move in with Jonathan, so I stepped out of the office and called her back thinking that she had important information.

“Well…I finally got in touch with the realtor who showed your house. She has some bad news.”, she starts.

“Ok?” I replied with hesitation having no idea what new bad news the realtor was about to lay on me or if the bad news was even all that bad in the first place.

“Her clients couldn’t even walk down the stairs because the stench was AWFUL. They had to leave the house! And she also mentioned that your house is extremely dirty…cluttery too. This is the 3rd realtor who has complained about these things.”

What??? The third realtor? Why am I just now hearing about this? I tried to explain that I placed febreze plugins and a fan in the basement to improve the smell, I dust, vacuum, and mop daily, and I scoop cat litter 2-3x per day. However, the realtor had no interest in listening.

“I’m sorry. Your feelings are clearly hurt and you’re offended, but it’s my job to tell you this feedback, ok?”

The realtor continued explaining my feelings to me in a condescending tone. A coworker came to the break room and stood uncomfortably close considering I was on the phone.

“I don’t know why I’m trying to explain the situation.” I interrupted,
“I should have just said ‘OK’ and been done with it because it makes no difference.”

“Now…your feelings are really hurt but I’m just the messenger, remember?”, she said followed by more talk about my feelings and admitting my feelings.

“Ask Jonathan if he can take your cats and dogs for a few months until your house sells. Maybe someone else could take them if you split them up…Oh, and just put all that clutter in storage.” She continued.

I had explained in the past that I cannot ship the cats to Jonathan’s tiny 2BR house because he has no way of keeping them indoors. Another explanation that fell on deaf ears.

I interrupted. “No, my feelings are not hurt. In any case, my feelings are inconsequential. What would you like me to do? Would you like me to have the open house on Sunday or cancel and work on the stench and clutter issue?”

“That’s your call.”

“No. It is your choice as the realtor whether or not the open house is scheduled or canceled. How would you like to handle this?”

“I think you should talk to Jonathan.”

Ah. That sentence is code for: I-think-you’re crazy/irrational/overreacting-and-you-should-get-a-man-to-calm-your-titties.  Why do women say things like this to one another???

“Ok.”, I said. “I need to get back to work.”

The realtor has since sent 3 emails expounding on my nonexistent feelings of hurt over her tactless feedback. I attempted to explain how frustration differs from “hurt”, but she hasn’t absorbed my feedback and she continues to speak to me as though I’m a teenager who may burst into tears at any moment.

This situation has reached a point were I am starting to feel annoyed and a little angry. Jonathan, who is not patient with other people, is so angry with the situation he wants me to fire the realtor.

4 thoughts on “The Condescending Realtor and My Nonexistent Feelings

  1. That sucks. Put baking soda in the cat box every time you scoop it or change it. Before you leave for work, mist a 50/50 mix of vinegar and water all over your carpet. When you get home, sprinkle baking soda all over the carpet and let sit for at least 30 min, then vacuum. Any non carpeted floor, wash with the vinegar and water mix. It works awesome. I had a dog that was wetting on the carpet toward the end before we put him down. This pulled the smell right out. And it is safe for your pets. And if you need to, you can brush the animals as much as possible and after a bath, or coming in out of the rain, spritz with vinegar mix. Gets rid of that smell too.

    1. I’ve done all of those things. I’m not even joking or exaggerating. I think the real issue is that I have pets and people don’t like pets. I’ve even had friends who don’t own pets come over to sniff my house.

  2. I am sorry you are going through this. Selling a house is tough enough. We used to have one cat long ago and friends would complain once in awhile about the smell. My wife was horrified and tried to keep the kitty litter cleaner.

    Anyway, I wish you the best here. Tough situation.

    frank

    1. I have been scooping the litter box 2-3x a day, cleaning the whole house 2x a day, etc. I think the real issue is that some people just don’t like cats so, when the friendly cat comes out to greet them, they’re instantly offended.

Leave a Reply

