The Bad Pain Day

Tramadol (generic: ultram)
Tramadol (generic: ultram)

Today has been a bad pain day. If you’ve never experienced chronic pain, a bad pain day is hard to relate to, I suppose. Imagine falling down a flight of stairs and feeling sore for a few days from the fall then extend that feeling through every day of your life. Some days it feels like you just fell down the stairs. Other days it feels as though you’ve broken most bones in your body. And some days you feel sore but almost normal.

This morning the muscles in my hips and left leg are contracting into painful charlie horses which was a painful way to wake up. Even the muscles in my lower bad were tight and sore. I quietly hobbled downstairs to get some pain meds trying not to wake up Jonathan. Sometimes moving around helps so I tried doing some chores. It didn’t help.

Since it hurt to bend, it hurt to walk, it hurt to sit, it hurt to stand…basically every activity hurt, I decided to take a muscle relaxer. Jonathan woke up and it still took an hour for me to be ready to go thrifting because the cramps and pain were so serious. While we were shopping, I would have miserable shooting pains if I turned too suddenly or bent down to look at something. I would wince and try to breathe through the pain so the other shoppers didn’t think I was insane. Jonathan worried about me the whole shopping trip which drained the joy from looking at furnishings for our new house.

I needed to carry some small boxes upstairs and couldn’t because of the pain. I needed to clean, but couldn’t. I needed to pack boxes for the impending move but that was out of the question.

Today is the kind of day when having RA and fibromyalgia really, really sucks.

17 thoughts on “The Bad Pain Day

  1. This is a dreadful way to live. I have constant back pain, but nothing like yours.

    You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    frank

  2. I can definitely relate. I have a diagnosis of Fibromyalgia and Sjogren’s Syndrome which is an auto-immune muscle and connective tissue disease. I live like this everyday as well. I have a separate blog on here that is more personal that I write about my living with this and my life. Just wanted to reach out to you because it’s nice to know you’re not alone.

    1. I know a little about Sjogren’s, actually. I used to work for a medical lab. It’s statistically amazing how many autoimmune sufferers have fibromyalgia, honestly. Oh, and allergies. Most autoimmune sufferers I know also deal with a huge variety of odd allergies. Myself included.

      1. The only allergies that I know of that I have are Sulfa drugs and seasonal, dust, mold, etc, I also have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis since I was about 13 or 14. I have heard that it’s common as well with the Fibromyalgia and having an autoimmune disorder.

      2. I’m not allergic to cats, dogs, hamsters, birds, and horses. I’m allergic to most every other stupid thing. Soaps, scents, bugs, grasses, pollens, mold, dust…you name it and I’m probably sniffling and wheezing because of it.

      3. So do you just have a diagnosis of Fibromyalgia or anything else that goes along with it if you don’t mind me asking?

      4. It’s not the most fun ever, but I manage 95% of the time to lead a “normal” life. I work, raise kids, have a husband, bunches of cats, and a couple dogs. It’s nice to connect with other autoimmune sufferers on WP tho because it’s hard for people with normal immune systems to understand our chronic and often bizarre health problems.

      5. Yeah I agree that’s very true. I also joined a Fibromyalgia Support Group here where I live. So I could meet some people to relate to as well.

  3. I’ve had many days of pain….much, much pain. Recently I haven’t been in as much pain…thankfully. I hope it doesn’t return as bad as it was since the pain meds have stopped working, and I’ve developed an intolerance to opiates….makes me itch!! These days it’s the vertigo. A different type of misery. We both the hand that has been dealt, I guess. Taking one moment at a time. I too must pack, and we are majorly downsizing, so I must determine what goes with us and what goes away, this has brought up so much heart felt emotions. I can get rid of it, but it brings tears. lost memories not cherished enough? silly I guess, but it’s making it harder, the stress. I hope your pain days are less….may they treat you more gentle.

    1. Take a photo of what you give away or get rid of then make an album so you can cherish the memories.

      Personally, I’m not a “stuff” person. My ex-husband was, however. He left 5yrs ago and I’ve been slowly downsizing ever since. Now I’ve remarried and will be moving in with my husband and his 2 kids so we get to create completely new memories and enjoy new things. Look forward to the excitement of the new. 🙂

  4. I feel your pain… literally. I’ve got the fibro thing too, and a few other things I won’t go into. Sorry you’re having an bad pain day. I hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

