Moving, RA, and Sneaky Blog Updates. Oh my!

Since moving to the new house with Jonathan and the kids, it’s been difficult to find time to update. Jonathan and I lie in bed together at night and he’s always stealing glances of my screen…mostly while I work in Photoshop or Lightroom. But his observation definitely prevents anonymous updates. If he knew I wrote about him anonymously online, he would be extremely angry.

Luke and Oliver (the kids) went back to school a couple weeks ago. I was surprised by how easily they transitioned to the back to school routine. Last year, even at the beginning of the school year, they whined and complained about showers and bedtime and lunches. This year seems to be much easier. Maybe because I wake them up each morning instead of Jonathan? I don’t know. Jonathan is notoriously grouchy in the morning. The kids and I have nicknamed Jonathan the “Grump-asaurus Rex”.

“The Grump-asaurus Rex is awake! You better have your shoes on and be ready to go!” 


 

My RA symptoms were in remission for much of the month. I only struggled with fatigue and a mild back ache. This week RA came back with a vengeance and I was stricken with crippling back pain. The pain was so bad I made an emergency appointment with the rheumatologist.

“How many days of work have you missed?”, the rheumatologist nonchalantly asked during the physical exam.

“None.”, I replied.

“You haven’t missed a single day of work for this?”

“No. I don’t miss work.”

 

Shaking his head in disbelief the rheumatologist gave me 4 cortisone shots, muscle relaxers, anti inflammatory meds, pain meds, and ordered two days of bed rest. I didn’t take the bed rest. Instead, I worked from home and took 10min breaks to lie on my back every 2hrs. I don’t miss work.

Normally I struggle to meet my own basic needs during a flare, especially a flare causing excruciating back pain like this one. This flare has been easier because Jonathan, Oliver, and Luke are so helpful. Chores like loading the dishwasher and feeding are unbearably painful without help.

Speaking of Jonathan, here he comes. He just finished leveling the basement floor to install tile and he’s ready to snuggle and browse the internet together before bed. We’re such geeks.

4 thoughts on “Moving, RA, and Sneaky Blog Updates. Oh my!

  1. I also write anonymously. My wife read one of my posts long ago and hated it. She did not forbid me from posting, but I never ever talk about it.

    Sorry about your pain. I am sure shots into my lumbar area are in my future.

    Living with a grouch. My wife is not that, but she is the Boss and highly driven. I sometimes hear from her when I fail to do things her way.

    1. Jonathan isn’t a grouch all the time, he’s just a grouch in the morning. He honestly doesn’t even mean to be a grouch. As far as anonymous writings go – He is a private person and wouldn’t think well of disclosing so much information online even though it’s stripped of real names and identifying details.

Leave a Reply

