Necessity is the Mother of…Skin Treatments?

My skin is finally somewhat better. The redness and itching is minimal now and the lesions are healing. Unfortunately the steroid creams I paid a pretty penny for after the dermatologist visit didn’t help. Desonide did nothing and Elidel, while reducing the itching and redness, caused my skin to break out in water blisters wherever the cream was applied. Since I applied Elidel to my neck, I’ve spent a few weeks awkwardly covering my neck at work as though I was covered in hickies…not a cute look.

It took a few days to connect Elidel with the blistering. I would apply Elidel, the itching and redness would decrease, then I’d have pin-head size water blisters throughout the area of application 72hrs later. I’ve since stopped all steroid creams including hydrocortisone. Hydrocortisone seemed to reduce itching in the short term, but increase itching in the long term. I suspect this happens because hydrocortisone is a bit drying and dry skin increases irritation and itching.

Since the recommended treatments were worsening my symptoms, I’ve concocted my own treatment to lessen my misery. I whip coconut oil in a mixer, add vitamin E oil, lavender oil, rosemary oil, sweet orange oil, and crushed aloe plant leaf.

The essential oils I’m using are therapeutic grade. I patch test each oil on my arm to ensure it won’t cause irritation before adding it to the coconut oil. Most of the products I’m allergic to are detergent and synthetic fragrances so I haven’t reacted to the natural oils thus far. My concoction seems to be helping more than any treatment I’ve tried and my skin is feeling and looking better than it has in about a month.

Late last week I ordered some raw shea butter and lactic acid to add to the whipped coconut oil. Shea butter contains vitamins that help fade stretch marks – a side effect of my numerous steroid treatments – and it reduces inflammation while moisturizing well. Lactic acid is used in pricey lotions like Amlactin to treat keratosis pilaris which is unattractive, but not a serious condition. Lactic acid helps exfoliate to remove the scaly patches of keratin buildup in the hair follicle.

I’ll patch test the new ingredients and we’ll see how this goes.

8 thoughts on “Necessity is the Mother of…Skin Treatments?

    1. As odd as it sounds, I don’t have a bathtub at my house. Eventually we’ll install one upstairs, but right now we have 2 showers.

      I have tried colloidal oatmeal lotion and it seemed to help. However, at $12 for 8oz of lotion, it is beyond my means to buy regularly. For $12, I can get over a month of coconut oil lotion supplies but the 8oz tube only lasts 5 days.

  1. Several months ago, at the age of 72, I was diagnosed with Acne. According o the dermatologist, it is a likely side-effect to a new medication. If the prescribed topical treatment doesn’t correct the condition, I will look at natural alternatives. Thank you for sharing.

    1. You could look into oil washing your skin, using tea tree oil, or even try a soap like Dial. It all depends on what the medicine is effecting that is causing the acne – hormones, bacteria, oil production…

      I encourage you to try a few things and see if any work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

