“Ready for Christmas” / Perioral Dermatitis

Parents are Never “Ready For Christmas”

Yes, I am ready for Christmas. I do not think anyone who has kids is ever ready for Christmas in the way that people without kids are ready for Christmas. Presents are purchased. Jonathan wrapped the majority of the kids’ presents. However, I still need to wrap Jonathan’s presents A Christmas Eve wrapping session is planned for tomorrow when Jonathan is finally out of the house. Since Jonathan works fewer hours than I do, he is always home before I am and leaves after I do in the morning. It’s hard to sneak anything past him.

I’ve succeeded in avoiding my family since Thanksgiving. Since it’s the time of year when everyone hangs out with their families and women go shopping with their mothers, I often think about writing a letter to my (mentally ill) mother. Since my mother has no empathy for others, the letter idea swishes back and forth in my mind but never makes it onto paper because I know that my mother would never accept the letter. Perhaps I’ll write it here when I have time.


Health “Adventures”

Overall I’ve been doing well for the past few weeks. The mysterious, body engulfing rash is under control thanks to the coconut oil and shea butter cream I’ve been making. The RA and fibro pain has been manageable with light meds.

The only problem I’m having right now is a face rash which the dermatologist deemed perioral dermatitis. So, without makeup my face looks like this. Gross, right?

The recommended treatment is a long course of antibiotics to control inflammation and Elidel, the skin ointment I cannot afford. I’ve read extensive blogs of women with the same condition and watched tons of youtube videos of product reviews. Since I don’t have over $100 to spend on medication for a condition that are annoying but otherwise harmless, I decided to spend $10 on grapeseed oil and aloe vera gel. I’ve read several instances where washing with grapeseed oil seemed to reduce or eliminate the rash and my skin does well with aloe. In fact, aloe is one of the ingredients in the anti-itch skin cream I’ve been making.

Until something starts clearing up the face rash, I’m stuck just applying makeup and hoping for the best.

 

One thought on ““Ready for Christmas” / Perioral Dermatitis

  1. Good Morning and Merry Christmas. I hope you have a good one and surprise your hubby.

    I have to see the dermatologist at least every three months to keep the skin cancer in check. I hope you figure out something on your meds to help with the rash.

    Wishing you the best,

    frank

Leave a Reply

