The Pre-Guaifenesin Purge

Still here. Still fatigued but not as exhausted as I felt over the weekend. That’s good right?

For those who asked by comment and email:

Yes, I’ve had labs. I recently had a thyroid panel which includes TSH, T3, T4 and maybe another test that I can’t recall. I’ve also had a CBC, or complete blood count, to check for anemia. I’ve had a metabolic panel to check liver function, kidney function, cholesterol, glucose, and a whole host of other things that don’t typically cause one to feel miserable.

Fortunately my labs are normal. Unfortunately I feel like crap.

The Pre-Guaifenesin Purge

I strongly suspect that fibromyalgia is responsible for my current misery. RA causes pain, swollen joints, low grade fever, and in my case weird skin rashes when I’m having a flare. I feel fatigue when I have an RA flare like you feel when you’re recovering from an illness. What I’m experiencing now is that I have no energy to begin with. I layer exhaustion on top of fatigue. It just doesn’t stop.

My next “step” (and by “step” I mean, treatment I’m going to try) is guaifenesin therapy. To treat fibromyalgia with guaifenesin, one must first rid all person hygiene items of salicylates which includes nearly every plant extract. Per the literature, guaifenesin therapy will not work if you are using any products containing salicylates/plant extracts. Starting guaifenesin for fibromyalgia treatment is pointless if you’re using salicylate products because the salicylates are easily absorbed by skin and block the guaifenesin.

For the past few days, I’ve been looking up the ingredients on products I have already purchased. I can keep my eye shadow, blush, bath soap, and one lipstick. I need to shop for: shampoo, conditioner, hair gel, brow filler, foundation, powder, hand soap, toothpaste, facial cleanser, facial lotion, eye makeup remover, body lotion, eye liner, and mascara. Hopefully Jonathan makes a little extra this month so I can begin shopping for some of the products I need. My current shampoo and conditioner are nearly empty.

Since guaifenesin is reported to make fibromyalgia symptoms worse at first, I need to wait at least a week before I can start the therapy because I’m on 24/7 call rotation for work.

If I keep feeling like I’ve been feeling, the next 7 days are going to be hard. I’m tough though. I’m sure I’ll make it out alive.

3 thoughts on “The Pre-Guaifenesin Purge

Leave a Reply

