Sal-Free Shopping: Lotion, Toothpaste, & Makeup

Jonathan, Luke, and Oliver are upstairs watching one of the Harry Potter movies. I’m lying in bed, suffering from a cold, feeling super medicated because, well, I’m super medicated. Having asthma turns every cold into a much more serious illness than a cold should be. Ugh. <cough. sniffle. wheeze.> Thank goodness for NyQuil.

Sal-Free Shopping

*Warning: The following is sure to bore a few of my regular male readers half to death.*

I’m slowly but surely acquiring salicylate free products I need.

Here are a few of the items I’ve gotten so far (excuse the completely un-edited cell phone pics):

Photo Feb 03, 10 07 28 PMSince I still have some lotion left, I haven’t gotten to try Vaseline Intensive Care Advanced Repair. Based on the ingredients, it sounds like exactly what my ultra-dry skin needs. It was $3-$4 for the smaller bottle. Going sal-free means I can no longer use my concoction of coconut oil, shea butter, and essential oils since every ingredient other than shea butter contains salicylates.

Photo Feb 03, 10 06 57 PM
Tom’s of Main Silly Strawberry toothpaste. Target had the best price. It’s shockingly expensive on Amazon. Mint toothpaste is high in salicylates so this is one of the few pre-made toothpastes I can use. I was pleasantly surprised that my lip no longer had the dry, chapped, peeling feeling after using this toothpaste for a few days. I also have fewer red splotches around my mouth and chin. Definitely a winner. Even if guaifenesin protocol doesn’t work for me, I’ll keep using this toothpaste since my lips and skin are in better condition now.

Photo Feb 03, 10 06 30 PMOh, how I love makeup. I’ve loved makeup since my pre-teens. I love emphasizing your favorite features and creating new looks.

I am glad Maybelline Lasting Drama eyeliner is sal-free. It’s a gel eyeliner often recommended by makeup artists. 

Covergirl Ultimate Finish is a liquid to powder foundation I’ve used before. It’s not my favorite foundation because I think it doesn’t blend as well as a liquid. But, hey, for around $8 it’s a great sal-free deal that’s sure to even out my naturally splotchy complexion.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sal-Free Shopping: Lotion, Toothpaste, & Makeup

Leave a Reply

