The Awful Pharmacy

The past 3 days have been hard. I’ve paid for my day of normalcy with pain which had kept me from sleeping well which has led to extreme fatigue. To make matters worse, the pharmacy my insurance requires that I use still hasn’t shipped the meds I ordered almost 10 days ago. I’m cutting ultrams, orphenedrines, and lexapros in half to hopefully make them last until the meds finally arrive. I take lexapro, an antidepressant, for fatigue so halving my dose is making the fatigue from not sleeping well worse. I’m afraid to take more ultram so I can sleep through the night because if I run out I’ll have to suffer through withdraw.

The pharmacy is awful. Even the lady who answers the phone is terribly rude. She’s hung up on me several times. I wasn’t rude to her in the least, but she has no patience for answering questions…which is kinda her job actually since she’s the customer service person at the pharmacy.

Work has been a pain this week as well. I haven’t gotten breaks so the only time I’ve been able to leave my desk is to use the restroom. People often call my cell while I’m in the restroom. It takes 3 min for me to walk to the rest room, urinate, wash hands, and return to my desk. People cannot wait 3 min. I have more projects than I can complete and feel constantly behind and overwhelmed. My job is designed for men who can devote their lives to work while their wives take care of the children. My job is not designed for me.

I am grateful my job pays the bills. However, my job is definitely not my life’s purpose. When I consider the things I’d rather be doing, it feels like I’m wasting my life. Fibromyalgia and RA also make what I would rather be doing nearly impossible. It’s a catch 22, really. Outside of this blog, I encourage other people and don’t complain. This is the only place I have to talk about how frustrating my job can be.

9 thoughts on “The Awful Pharmacy

  1. ((((hugs))))
    You complain all you need to, petal, we don’t mind. I think many of us bloggers use this space to vent our spleens when we need to.
    Can you put in a formal complaint about the pharmacy? They’re incompetence is affecting your health and that’s wrong.

      1. That’s awful. There should be some way to address the issues through company procedures. Especially rudeness and poor customer service.

      2. I’ve tried numerous times. I was told the pharmacy staff are my coworkers and to show more respect or there will be consequences (implying that I risk losing my job if I make another complaint)

  2. Kudos to you for even getting up every morning and enduring a job everyday. That alone deserves a pat on the back. My meds are so expensive, if I didn’t have insurance, I’d be homeless.

Leave a Reply

