I Did Something Dumb

Last night I took 2 muscle relaxers. I intended to take 2 pain pills because I take 2 pain pills every night so I can sleep. Unfortunately, the muscle relaxer pill bottle and the pain bill bottle are the same size and the same pharmaceutical orange color. The muscle relaxer pills are even the same shape and shade of white only slightly thicker than the pain pills. Apparently, I grabbed the wrong bottle and popped two muscle relaxers without realizing what I had done.

An hour after taking the 2 muscle relaxers, I knew something was terribly wrong. My eyes wouldn’t water. My mouth was dry and parched. I was wired for sound and every muscle in my body was twitching. Muscle relaxers typically make people drowsy, but they have the opposite affect for me. My heart was pounding out of my chest and I was sweating profusely. I couldn’t fall asleep. I couldn’t even lie down in the same position for long because the muscles in my legs would not stop twitching.

Long story short, I stayed miserably awake until 2AM last night and slept a grand total of 3hrs. Working all day was awful because my eyes and mouth were so dry it felt like I had rubbed sand in my eyes and scooped up a mouth full of plain white flour, my muscles twitched and ached all day, and I was exhausted from lack of sleep.

Needless to say, the muscle relaxer bottle has been marked with big red ‘X’s in permanent marker and moved to a different area of the medicine cabinet. Never again. NEVER AGAIN will I take 2 muscle relaxers. NEVER EVER AGAIN.

Leave a Reply

