Sleepless and Sunflowers

Tomorrow is Luke and Oliver’s first day of school. Since they’re both going to middle school this year, I need to start waking up at 5AM to make sure they don’t miss the bus. We live nearly an hour for the school and the bus arrives at 7AM. Since I’ll be wrangling both children, neither of which are morning people, I need to wake up at 5AM to shower, pack my lunch, and prepare for the day before the kids wake up at 6A. From 6A-7A, I’ll be making sure breakfasts are eaten, lunches are packed, meds are taken, and backpacks are filled with school work.

There is only one problem: Going to bed at 9PM in order to wake up at 5AM is proving to be difficult. I’m a night owl by nature so going to bed as soon as the sun sets has always proved difficult.

I don’t have much choice. Jonathan won’t wake up early enough to make sure the kids get out the door on time. We’ve tried that. When Jonathan is responsible for mornings, the kids are late for school 2 out of 5 days. Now that school is an hour away from the house, and 1.5hrs from work, I can’t afford the extra time to take the kids to school if they miss the bus. So, 5AM wakeup time it is…

While I fight my night owl nature, here is a picture of an 11′ tall sun flower:

Sunflower
**Edit**: It’s 9:30PM, child bedtime, and the kids just burst in my bedroom proclaiming that Jonathan hasn’t made them dinner. Sure enough, Jonathan has not made dinner. He fell asleep face down on the couch upstairs. <face palm>

Leave a Reply

